Whistle While You Whine

In an attempt to rid our home of kids with overwhelming entitlement disease, I have recently turned to the advice of parenting books, scriptures, white hairs… You name it! My husband and I realize that we have ruined our kids somewhere along the road. Most likely between the Xbox and the iPhone5 but right before the car. In a quest to raise them to be proper, upstanding, intelligent, Godly individuals, we missed the turn that would’ve instilled the deep seeded work ethic. Don’t get me wrong – you put my son on a football field or in a classroom and you will see work ethic defined. You ask him to unload the dishwasher later that same evening and you will know the definition of disdain and repulsion. Our kids genuinely don’t believe they should be required to contribute to the workings of our household one iota.
When we were kids we had Saturday morning chores, everyone did. Cartoons didn’t even come on until later in the morning because no one was there to watch them… We were all busy working BEFORE we could earn TV privileges. Not to mention, you had better do your jobs right the first time or else!
How did we end up here? Asking our children if they would pretty please do us a favor and maybe when they have time take the trash out?? And if they refuse or forget? We just do it ourselves and move on with no consequences. So where do we go from here? Life would be much easier if we just continued on the same path we’ve been traveling. The trouble with that is the price society would have to pay when my kids are unleashed on the world. In a few years they will be out on their own completely unprepared to deal with the realities of a world that doesn’t respect their entitlement “issues”. I don’t want my kids to only look out for themselves or worse, expect others to always be looking out for them. So I am taking up the fight even when I’m tired… I will let them think I’m the bad guy. My daughter actually told me a while back that when she’s a mom she’s going to be a good mom because she’ll pick up for her kids and do all the work. We’ll see about that!! She’s seven years old, I still have a chance to show her where we went wrong (I pray). I want to be a better mom than I have been because I want to prepare them for their futures in a world that doesn’t really care about their needs. Can I teach my kids that hard work and dedication pays off? I’m going to do my best…

Leave a Reply

